Monuments of history and architecture

“October” Cinema Theater (Restaurant and hotel complex "AK Sunkar")

The building was built in the early XX century. Since its construction until the end of the 90s of the XX century it was used as a cultural and recreational center. The first cinema (cinematograph) appeared in Akmolinsk in 1910. The cinema theater was called “Meteor” and was built by merchants A.I. Skvortsov and D.V. Egorov. After a fire destroyed the cinematograph “Meteor”, in 1913 the brothers Egorovs built a new one, called “Progress”. In a period of economic and cultural development there were several functional cinemas in the city. The most famous were – “October” (a modern building of “Ak Sunkar” hotel), “Rodina” (“Homeland”) (located in the area of modern Congress-Hall building), “Stroitel” (“Builder”) (the area of Agro-town, now in the building there is a foam manufacturing plant), “Sholpan” (was located on present Koshkarbayev Street in the area of Asem shopping center).

In 2000, the cinema theater “October” fell under renovation, the building became a restaurant and “Europa Palace” hotel (the current name of which is – “Ak Sunkar”). In front of the hotel there is a monument to Kazakh folk composer and akyn Zhayau Musa Bayzhanuly.

As a result of reconstruction in 2000, the original appearance of the facades and interiors were changed. The additional details have been appeared: a modern entrance roof overhang and stone lions outside the main entrance. In the former auditorium, instead of two floor levels three have been made, where there are cabins in the form of theater boxes for 6-8 people with a view to the stage.

FaLang translation system by Faboba

Памятники истории и архитектуры

Здание кинотеатра «Октябрь» (Ресторанно-гостиничный комплекс «Ак Сункар») начало ХХ в.

Здание построено в начале ХХ в. С момента постройки и до конца 90-х годов ХХ в. использовалось как культурно-досуговый центр. Первый кино­театр (кинематограф) появился в Акмолинске в 1910 г. Кинематограф назывался «Метеор» и был построен купцами А.И.Скворцовым и Д.В.Егоровым. После пожара, уничтожившего кинемотограф «Метеор», в 1913 г. братьями Егоровыми был построен новый, получивший название «Прогресс». В период экономического и культурного подъема в городе функцио­нировало несколько кинотеатров. Самыми известными были - «Октябрь» (современное зда­ние отеля «Ак-сункар»), «Родина» (находился в районе современного здания Когресс-хола), «Строитель» (район Агрогородка, сейчас в здании размещается завод по производству пенопласта), «Шолпан» (располагался на современной ул. Кошкарбаева, в районе ТЦ Асем).

В 2000 году кинотеатр «Октябрь» подвергся реконструкции, в здании стал располагаться ресторан и отель «Европа-Палас», современное название которого - «Ак-сункар). Перед зданием гостиницы установлен памятник казахскому народному акыну и композитору Жаяу Мусе Байжанулы.

В результате реконструкции в 2000 г. был изменен первоначальный вид фасадов и интерьеров. Появились дополнительные детали: современный козырек и каменные львы у главного входа. В бывшем зритель­ном зале, вместо двух уровней пола, сдела­но три, где расположились кабинки в виде театральных лож на 6-8 человек с видом на эстраду.

FaLang translation system by Faboba