Monuments of history and architecture

The monumental structure of "Astana-Baiterek" 2002

The monument was built on the initiative of President of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Nursultan Nazarbayev, as a symbol of transfer of the capital from Almaty to Astana in 1997. The height of the monument is 97 meters, which symbolizes the year 1997 – the year of proclamation of Astana city a new capital of the state and, accordingly, a new starting point in the history of the country.

The monument “Astana-Baiterek”, where everything is symbolic - the golden sun in the canopy and the height of 97 meters, and the internal architecture, divided into three zones and embodying three bases of the universe – is known far beyond Kazakhstan. This "poplar" (in Kazakh language - бейтерек (beiterek)) made of metal, glass and concrete is unique in architectural thought and grandiose in execution: a metal construction with 105 meters high, weighing over 1,000 tons, stands on five hundred piles. The world's first balloon with diameter of 22 meters and weighing 300 tons of glass "chameleon", that changes color depending on the sunlight, has been set at a record height. Towering above the young capital, it serves as an architectural symbol of renewal, a symbol of Astana, a symbol of Kazakhstan.

The significance of "Baiterek", as a symbol of a new stage in the life of the Kazakh people, is underlined by an artistic composition "Ayaly Alakan" with a print of the right hand of the President, located on the top floor at a height of 97 meters.

The height of the construction with the ball, crowning the design is 105 meters. The diameter of the engolden ball consists 22 meters. The lower level takes four and a half meters under the ground, where there are cafes, aquariums and Minigallery "Baiterek". From there you can take the elevator to the top level - the ball, where the bar and panoramic room are located inside.

The project was worked over by the architects: A. Rustembekov and V. Islamov, S.Bazarbayev, Zh.Aitbolayev, A.Ospanov (interior), designers M. Wainstein and W. Cherepanov. In the development of the project of the monument there were implemented ideas of President of the Republic of Kazakhstan N.A. Nazarbayev.

At the baseline of the establishment a legend of the tree of the universe "Baiterek" lies, which grew on top of the mountain Kok-Tobe. Every year, a bird Samruk laid a golden egg into the nest on the top. The dragon of the Darkness underworld stole and swallowed it. The legend represents the creation of the world, the essence of life and death, struggle between good and evil.

"Baiterek" by its location and compositional structure expresses cosmogonical representations of ancient nomads, according to whose legends, the World River flows at the junction of the worlds. On its bank there stands the Tree of Life - Baiterek, holding the earth with its roots and supporting the sky with its crown. The Tree’s roots, respectively, are in the underworld, the Tree itself, its trunk is in the earth, and the crown is in the heaven.

Every year in the Tree’s crown the sacred bird Samruk lays an egg - the Sun, which is swallowed by the dragon Aidakhar living at the bottom of the Tree of Life, which symbolically means change of summer and winter, day and night, the struggle between good and evil.

The Tree’s roots represent the roots of the Turkic people: the trunk with the crown - life; the golden egg - the sun, the light; the mountain – the Earth, the dragon - darkness.

Instead of the Tree’s crown there is laid down an idea of a breaking flower, instead of the eggs – the half-risen sun, the sparkling ball.

  "Baiterek" means a young fast growing tree, symbolizes a state by itself, having preserved its historical roots, having a strong support and determination to the future prosperity.

FaLang translation system by Faboba

Памятники истории и архитектуры

Монументальное сооружение «Астана-Байтерек» 2002 г., центральная часть водно-зеленого бульвара

Монумент был построен по инициативе Первого Президен­та Республики Казахстан Нурсултана Назарбаева, как символ переноса столи­цы из Алма-Аты в Акмолу в 1997 году. Высота монумента 97 м, что символизи­рует собой 1997 год - год провозглаше­ния Астаны новой столицей государства и, соответственно, новую точку отсчета в истории страны.

  Монумент «Астана-Байтерек», где символично все - и золотое солнце в кро­не, и высота в 97 метров, и внутренняя архитектура, разделенная на три зоны и олицетворяющая три основы мирозда­ния, известен далеко за пределами Ка­захстана. Этот «тополь» (по-казахски, - бейтерек) из металла, стекла и бето­на уникален по архитектурной мысли и грандиозен по исполнению: металличе­ская конструкция высотой 105 метров, весом свыше 1000 тонн стоит на пяти­стах сваях. Впервые в мире шар диа­метром 22 метра и весом в 300 тонн из стекла «хамелеон», меняющего цвет в зависимости от солнечного света, установлен на рекордную высоту. Возвышающийся над моло­дой столицей, он служит архитектурным символом обновления, символом столицы, символом Казахстана.

  Значимость «Байтерека», как символа нового этапа в жизни казахского народа, подчер­кивается художественной композицией «Аялы алакан» с оттиском правой руки Первого Президента, расположенной на верхней площадке на высоте 97 метров.

  Высота сооружения с шаром, венчающим конструкцию, - 105 метров. Диаметр позолочен­ного шара 22 метра.

  Над проектом работали – архитекторы: А. Рустембеков, В. Исламов, С.Базарбаев, Ж.Айтболаев, А.Оспанов (интерьеры), конструкторы М. Вайнштейн и В. Чере­панов. В разработке проекта монумента реализованы идеи Первого Президента Республики Казах­стан Н.А. Назарбаева.

  В основе создания лежит легенда о древе мироздания «Байтерек», которое росло на вер­шине горы Кок-Тобе. Каждый год птица Самрук откладывала в гнездо на вершине золотое яйцо. Дракон подземного царства Тьмы похищала и проглатывала его. Легенда олицетворяет сотворение мира, сущность жизни и смерти, борьбу добра и зла.

 «Байтерек» своим расположением и композиционным строением выражает космогониче­ские представления древних кочевников, по преданиям которых, на стыке миров протекает Мировая река. На ее берегу возвышается Дepeвo жизни - Байтерек, корнями удерживающее землю, а кроной подпирающее небо. Крона этого дерева, соответственно, в подземном мире, само дерево, его ствол – земном, а крона - в небесном.   Каждый год в кроне Дерева священная птица Самрук откладывает яйцо - Солнце, которое проглатывает дракон Айдахар, живущий у подножия дерева жизни, что символически означа­ет смену лета и зимы, дня и ночи, борьбу добра и зла.

                 Корни дерева символизируют корни тюркского народа: ствол с кроной - жизнь; золотое яйцо - солнце, свет; гора - 3емлю, дракон - тьму.    Вместо кроны дерева заложена идея раскрывающегося цветка, вместо яйца – наполовину взошедшее солнце, сверкающий шар.   «Байтерек» означает молодое крепко растущее дерево, символизирует собой государ­ство, сохранившее свои исторические корни, имеющее прочную опору и устремленность к бу­дущему процветанию.

FaLang translation system by Faboba